PR: 2019 USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team

Photo credits: USA Basketball

Press release from USA Basketball

The 2019 USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team July Minicamp is expected to feature 73 athletes from July 24-28 at the United States Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

The roster features 15 gold medalists and includes 41 athletes who have taken part in a least one previous USA Basketball training camp and 17 athletes who will be new to USA Basketball.

Eighteen athletes are from the high school class of 2020, including: Jabri Abdur-Rahim (Blair Academy/Short Hills, N.J.), Nimari Burnett (Prolific Prep, Calif./Chicago, Ill.), Sharife Cooper (McEachern H.S./Powder Springs, Ga.), Dawson Garcia (Prior Lake H.S./Prior Lake, Minn.), Isaiah Jackson (SPIRE Academy, Ohio/Waterford, Mich.), Jalen Johnson (Sun Prairie H.S./Sun Prairie, Wis.), Walker Kessler (Woodward Academy/Newnan, Ga.), Justin Lewis (Polytech H.S./Baltimore, Md.), Caleb Love (Christian Brothers College H.S./St. Louis, Mo.), Adam Miller (Morgan Park H.S./Chicago, Ill.), Moses Moody (Montverde Academy, Fla./Little Rock, Ark.), Daishen Nix (Trinity International School/Las Vegas, Nev.), Jalen Suggs (Minnehaha Academy/Minneapolis, Minn.), Dalen Terry (Hillcrest Prep/Tempe, Ariz.), Cameron Thomas (Oak Hill Academy/Chesapeake, Va.), Bryce Thompson (Booker T. Washington H.S./Tulsa, Okla.), Isaiah Todd (Trinity Academy/Raleigh, N.C.) and Ziaire Williams (Notre Dame H.S./Sherman Oaks, Calif.).

From the high school class of 2021 are 24 participants, including: Devin Askew (Mater Dei H.S./Santa Ana, Calif.), Patrick Baldwin Jr. (Hamilton H.S/Sussex, Wis.), Paolo Banchero (O’Dea H.S./Seattle, Wash.), Nathan Bittle (Crater H.S./Central Point, Ore.), Jaylen Blakes (Blair Academy/Somerset, N.J.), Wilhelm Breidenbach (Mater Dei H.S./Santa Ana, Calif.), Kendall Brown (East Ridge H.S./Cottage Grove, Minn.), Kennedy Chandler (Briarcrest Christian H.S./Memphis, Tenn.), Max Christie (Rolling Meadows H.S./Arlington Heights, Ill.), Matt Cleveland (Pace Academy/Milton, Ga.), Keon Edwards (Findlay College Prep, Nev./Pasadena, Texas), Michael Foster (Hillcrest Prep, Ariz./Milwaukee, Wis.), Caleb Furst (Blackhawk Christian School/Fort Wayne, Ind.), Jackson Grant (Olympia H.S./Olympia, Wash.), AJ Griffin (Archbishop Stepinac H.S./Ossining, N.Y.), Jaden Hardy (Coronado H.S./Henderson, Nev.), Zion Harmon (Marshall County H.S./Benton, Ky.), Will Jeffress (McDowell H.S./Erie, Pa.), Bensley Joseph (Cushing Academy/Arlington, Mass.), Trevor Keels (Paul VI Catholic H.S., Va./Clinton, Md.), Khristian Lander (Francis Joseph Reitz School/Evansville, Ind.), Langston Love (Steele H.S./Cibolo, Texas), Jabari Smith Jr. (Sandy Creek H.S./Tyrone, Ga.) and Payton Watson (Long Beach Poly H.S./Long Beach, Calif.).

From the high school class of 2022 are 27 participants, including: Amari Bailey (Sierra Canyon/Chatsworth, Calif.), Noah Batchelor (Goretti H.S./Frederick, Md.), Jaden Bradley (Cannon School/Concord, N.C.), Jameel Brown (Haverford H.S./Philadelphia, Pa.), Andre Casey Jr. (Simeon Career Academy/Chicago, Ill.), Skyy Clark (Heritage Christian H.S./Los Angeles, Calif.), Zion Cruz (Hudson Catholic H.S./Trenton, N.J.), Eric Dailey Jr. (IMG Academy/Tampa, Fla.), Gradey Dick (Collegiate School/Wichita, Kan.), Jalen Duren (Roman Catholic H.S., Pa./New Castle, Del.), Gregg Glenn III (Calvary Christian Academy/Pompano Beach, Fla.), Camden Heide (Wayzata H.S./Wayzata, Minn.), Sterling “Scoota” Henderson (Kell H.S./Marietta, Ga.), Trejuan Holloman (Cretin Derham Hall H.S./South St. Paul, Minn.), Jalen Hood-Schifino (Northside Christian Academy/Charlotte, N.C.), Jett Howard (University School/Miami, Fla.), Dillon Hunter (Westlake H.S./Atlanta, Ga.), Richard Isaacs Jr. (Coronado H.S./Las Vegas, Nev.), Chris Livingston (Buchtel H.S./Akron, Ohio), Knasir “Dug” McDaniel (Paul VI Catholic H.S./Fairfax, Va.), Mark Mitchell Jr. (Bishop Meige H.S./Lansing, Kan.), Shy Odom (Beaver County Day/Roxbury, Mass.), Marquise “MJ” Rice (Durham Academy/Credemore, N.C.), Jarace Walker (IMG Academy, Fla./New Freedom, Pa.), Dariq Whitehead (Montverde Academy, Fla./Newark, N.J.), Justice Williams (Roman Catholic H.S./Philadelphia, Pa.) and Kijani Wright (Windward School/Los Angeles, Calif.).

And finally, four participants are the class of 2023, including: Omaha Biliew (Dowling Catholic H.S./West Des Moines, Iowa), Jaylen Curry (Charlotte, N.C.), Chris Lockett Jr. (Newman H.S./New Orleans, La.) and DaJuan Wagner Jr. (Camden H.S./Camden, N.J.).

Phil Beckner (player development coach), Jeff Culver (University of Colorado, Colorado Springs), Scott Fitch (Fairport H.S., N.Y.) and Mike Jones (DeMatha Catholic H.S., Md.) will serve as lead coaches, alongside court coaches Dom Amorosa (Strake Jesuit H.S, Texas), Steve Dagostino (Dags Basketball), Corey Frazier (Brad Beal Elite), Aaron Gray (former NBA athlete), Matt Griffin (Roman Catholic H.S., Pa.), Nick LoGalbo (Lane Technical College Prep H.S., Ill.), Michael Rogers (Grandview H.S., Colo.), Steve Turner (Gonzaga College H.S., D.C.), Sharman White (Pace Academy, Ga.) and Chad Yates (Loyola H.S., Calif.).

In addition to on-court activities, the USA Junior National Team members will receive educational programming focused on topics such as recruiting, health and safety issues and nutrition.

New to USA Basketball will be Batchelor, Biliew, Blakes, Breidenbach, Cleveland, Curry, Edwards, Furst, Grant, Henderson, Joseph, Lockett, Langston Love, Terry, Thompson, Wagner and Watson.

On July 7, Suggs and Williams helped USA Basketball claim a gold medal at the 2019 FIBA U19 World Cup in Greece.

Also returning are 11 members of the gold medal winning 2019 USA U16 National Team, including; Bailey, Christie, Duren, Glenn, Griffin, Hunter, Isaacs, Jeffress, Livingston, Smith and Wright.

Recently, Askew, Burnett and Garcia teamed up to win the USA’s first gold medal at the FIBA 3×3 U18 World Cup, where Garcia was named MVP.

Suggs won gold medals at the 2018 FIBA U17 World Cup and 2017 FIBA Americas U16 Championship; and Harmon and Todd won gold at the 2017 FIBA Americas U16 Championship.

All 18 athletes from the high school class of 2020 rank on the ESPN 2020 100, Listed No. 4 is Johnson, followed by No. 6 Ziaire Williams, No. 8 Todd, No. 12 Suggs, No. 14 Isaiah Jackson, No. 16 Kessler, No. 19 Cooper, No 20 Tomas, No. 21 Burnett, No. 22 Nix, No. 23 Caleb Love, No. 24 Moody, No. 25 Thompson, No. 26 Adam Miller, No. 28 Abdur-Rahim, No. 46 Dawson Garcia, No. 59 Justin Lewis and No. 68 Terry.

Twenty are ranked on the ESPN 2021 60, led by No. 1 Baldwin and including No. 4 Hardy, No. 5 Banchero, No. 6 Foster, No. 10 Smith, No. 11 Griffin, No. 13 Bittle, No. 15, Christie, No. 16 Askew, No. 17 Lander, No. 18 Edwards, No. 21 Langston Love, No. 22 Kendall Brown, No. 23 Jeffress, No. 28 Harmon, No. 31 Furst, No. 33 Keels, No. 36 Breidenback, No. 38 Chandler and No. 54 Grant.

Finally, 16 who will graduate in 2022 list on the ESPN 2022 25, including No. 2 Duren, No. 3 Livingston, No. 5 Wright, No. 6 Bailey, No. 7 Whitehead, No. 8 Bradley, No. 10 Mitchell, No. 11 Walker, No. 13 Rice, No. 14 Hunter, No. 15 Casey, No. 17 Isaacs, No. 18 Glenn, No. 20 Cruz , No. 21 Odom and No. 23 Hood-Schifino.

The USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team Committee is responsible for selecting athletes and coaches for the USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team program.